NewCountries with no income tax in 2026 — read the guide →Countries with 0% income tax →

Residency & relocation

El Salvador Golden Visa 2026: What's Verified, What Isn't

Two real legal hooks for investors and donors, and a marketed "Freedom Visa" whose terms we could not verify.

By 2026-09-2910 min read
The Metropolitan Cathedral of San Salvador.
Photograph — Unsplash
The short answer

El Salvador has no fixed-price golden visa in law. A 2025 reform of Art. 152 lets investors and donors in government programmes opt for permanent residency, and Decree 918 (Art. 156 no. 5) lets them apply for naturalisation, but neither sets an amount or quota. The "Freedom Visa" terms are not verifiable from official sources as of September 2026. Pensionado and rentista residency are the documented alternatives.

What a "golden visa" means in El Salvador

Unlike Panama or Portugal, El Salvador has no long-established, fixed-price investor visa with a published schedule. What exists is thinner: two pieces of law that allow foreigners who invest in, or donate to, government-directed programmes to apply for a faster status, and a marketed product usually called the "Freedom Visa". This guide separates the two. As of September 2026, the legal hooks are verifiable in Salvadoran legislation; the commercial terms people quote online are not.

Facts below were checked against Salvadoran legislative and migration-authority sources in September 2026. Where a claim only appears in press or on seller websites, we say so, and we deliberately leave out figures we could not confirm.

The two legal hooks

1. Permanent residency (Art. 152 reform, April 2025). The Legislative Assembly approved a reform of Art. 152 of the Migration Law on 30 April 2025 (56 votes). It lets foreigners who donate or invest in Government-directed programmes or projects opt for permanent residency (the Assembly's wording: a definitive residency obtained in an "ágil y eficiente" way). The director of the migration authority (DGME) told the Assembly that the reform covers the applicant's family group only, and that the applicant must still present a criminal-record certificate, an ID document and proof of the programme. Some press reports give a later Official Gazette date and entry into force for this reform; the Assembly page we could read confirms only the approval date.

2. Naturalisation (Decree 918, January 2024). Legislative Decree 918 of 20 December 2023, published in the Diario Oficial on 9 January 2024, amended Art. 156 of the same law. Its new item 5 adds a category of people who may apply for naturalisation: foreigners who meet the requirements of government programmes aimed at attracting investors or donors who support El Salvador's development through injections of capital in legal tender or sustainable investment projects. The decree's recitals refer to Bitcoin donations. It tells the DGME to create a "procedimiento seguro y expedito" for these applicants. The decree sets no amount and no quota.

Read this before anything elseBoth hooks refer to government programmes whose requirements are defined elsewhere. The laws themselves do not state a price, a deposit, a cap on applicants or a processing time. Any figure you see for those is coming from a programme announcement or a seller, not from the statute.

The "Freedom Visa": what is and is not established

The programme was announced in December 2023 (law-firm and industry notes from the time describe it as a residence route open to people contributing in Bitcoin or USDT, with a pathway towards Salvadoran citizenship). Decree 918 followed in January 2024 and is the closest thing to a legal basis. That is where the verifiable trail ends:

  • We could not read an official terms page. The government portal (adoptingelsalvador.gob.sv) did not render in our checks, and we found no decree or Diario Oficial text that sets programme terms.
  • The Rio Times (2026) reports that terms can change and advises confirming on the official portal that files are actually being accepted. It also describes the contribution as not recoverable. Treat that as a press report, not a legal rule.
  • Commercial citizenship-by-investment sites advertise very fast approvals, no residence requirement and family inclusion. None of this is confirmed by a primary source, and some of those sites date the launch differently from the December 2023 announcement.
  • Whether a Freedom Visa holder becomes a resident, a permanent resident or a citizen, and after how long, is not established by any document we could read.

For that reason this page states no price, deposit or quota for the programme. If you are considering it, obtain the current terms in writing from the Salvadoran government and have them checked by a Salvadoran immigration lawyer before sending any money.

Verified vs not verified

ClaimStatusBasis
Foreign donors/investors in government programmes can opt for permanent residencyVerified (law)Art. 152 reform, Assembly approval 30 Apr 2025
Family group only, not "groups of trust"Verified (official statement)DGME director to the Assembly
Investors/donors under government programmes can apply for naturalisationVerified (law)Decree 918, Art. 156 no. 5, Diario Oficial 9 Jan 2024
Decree sets an amount or quotaVerified: it does notDecree text
Programme announced in December 2023Verified as an announcementPress and industry notes; not a decree
Price, deposit, annual capNot verifiedOnly seller and press claims; not stated here
Approval time ("weeks")Not verifiedSeller claims only
"No residence requirement" before citizenshipNot verifiedSeller claims only
Programme currently accepting filesNot verifiedOfficial portal not readable; press says confirm
Contribution is non-refundablePress report onlyRio Times

The ordinary alternative: naturalisation after residence

Outside the programme route, the Constitution (Art. 92) sets the standard residence periods: 1 year for people of Spanish or Spanish-American origin, 5 years for foreigners of any origin, and 2 years for a foreigner married to a Salvadoran. The migration law (Art. 156, as reformed by Decree 918) says that for the 5-year and 2-year routes both temporary and definitive residence years count. The DGME hosts the naturalisation form (F39).

A national newspaper summarising DGME requirements reports a maximum response time of nine months when requirements are met, and a requirement to present a certificate from your embassy or consulate that your country allows dual nationality, plus police clearances. Confirm current fees and documents with the DGME or the one-stop window before relying on them.

Dual nationality is guaranteed by the Constitution (Art. 91) to Salvadorans by birth. For naturalised citizens, whether you must give up your original nationality depends on your home country's law, so check that first. See our dual citizenship guide.

Ordinary residency categories as alternatives

The DGME lists initial-application forms F1 to F16, including F4 (investor), F5 (business), F7 (pensioners), F8 (rentista) and F11 (shareholder), with F17 onwards for extensions. There is no digital-nomad category on that page. Two categories matter most for people who are not investing through a government programme:

RouteRequirement (law text)Notes
Pensionado (Art. 144)Monthly, permanent and stable foreign pension of at least 3 minimum monthly wages (commerce and services)At US$408.80 (in force since 1 Jun 2025) that implies about US$1,226.40; check for an update
Rentista (Art. 145)Stable foreign income of at least 4 minimum monthly wages, or 6 if two or more people accompany youAbout US$1,635.20, or US$2,452.80 with 2+ companions (our arithmetic)
Shareholder (Art. 109)Non-Central Americans who form a Salvadoran company and subscribe and pay at least US$10,000 of capitalUp to 2 years, renewable
Individual merchant (Art. 109)Business assets of at least US$2,500Up to 2 years, renewable

Pensionados and rentistas get a residency of one year with multiple entries and exits, income-tax exemption on sums declared as coming from abroad, a one-time customs exemption on household goods up to US$20,000 (CIF), and an exemption on one vehicle up to US$25,000 (CIF), usable once every five years. After one year in that status, they can apply for permanent residency under Art. 152.

The law text also allows temporary residents to become permanent after three years, and a spouse or partner of a Salvadoran after one year of temporary residency. The law copy we read dates from 2019, before the April 2025 amendment and Decree 531, so article numbering may differ in a consolidated version. Verify with the DGME.

For general retirement context, see our retire in El Salvador guide.

Challenges and downsides

  • Residency can lapse if you are absent. Decree 531 (in force 31 March 2026) requires temporary residents to spend at least 90 calendar days a year in the country, consecutive or accumulated, except for justified force majeure. Failure is a ground for loss of status. The decree does not say whether this applies to pensionados and rentistas, whose Art. 148 sets a six-month absence limit; ask the DGME.
  • Naturalisation can be lost. A naturalised Salvadoran loses nationality by living more than two consecutive years in the country of origin, by more than five consecutive years' absence, or by a final sentence for serious intentional crimes (Art. 279 as amended in 2026). Loss is irreversible. Salvadorans by birth cannot lose status except by express renunciation.
  • No paid work for pensionados and rentistas. Only work for the State, specialised matters or teaching is allowed. Leaving the category within four years means repaying exempted taxes. Employed work in other categories needs a Ministry of Labour opinion.
  • Programme risk. Terms, operational status and legal treatment of the investor route are not confirmed by primary sources, and any contribution may not be recoverable per press reports.
  • The passport is not strong for some destinations. Salvadorans need a visa for the US, UK and Canada, and for Mexico with some exemptions. Counts of visa-free destinations vary by index and often include visa-on-arrival places.
  • Rules move. Residency rules changed in May 2025 and again in March 2026, and there is no single official fee schedule we could retrieve.
  • Wider context. Amnesty International has criticised El Salvador's security policy and the weakening of the rule of law; see our safety guide for the detail.

Official steps and where to verify

  • Read the two legal texts: the Assembly's note on the Art. 152 reform and Decree 918 (Art. 156).
  • Ask the DGME (migracion.gob.sv, +503 2535-6212, atencion.usuarios@migracion.gob.sv) in writing whether the investor/donor programme you are considering is open, which entity administers it and what it requires.
  • Documents issued abroad, such as police records, must be apostilled or authenticated and translated into Spanish.
  • Check the 90-day rule and the loss-of-status provisions for the specific category you would hold.
  • Use a Salvadoran immigration lawyer to confirm the current consolidated text before paying anything.

Where it fits in a borderless plan

A residency or a nationality is not the same as being tax-resident anywhere; read our El Salvador tax-residency guide for that. If your goal is a second passport, compare this with other citizenship-by-investment programmes and ancestry routes, both of which have published terms.

Frequently asked questions

Does El Salvador have a golden visa?

Not as a fixed, published-price programme. Law allows investors and donors in government programmes to opt for permanent residency (Art. 152 reform, April 2025) or apply for naturalisation (Decree 918, Art. 156 no. 5), but the programme terms are not set in those texts.

What is the Freedom Visa and how much does it cost?

It is the name used for the investor and donor route announced in December 2023. We could not find an official terms page, so we do not state a price, deposit or quota. Confirm terms with the Salvadoran government before paying anyone.

Does an investment give citizenship in El Salvador?

Decree 918 lets investors and donors under government programmes apply for naturalisation, with the DGME told to build a procedure. It does not set a timeline. Claims of citizenship in weeks come from seller sites and are unconfirmed.

What are the alternatives if I do not invest?

Pensionado (foreign pension of at least 3 minimum monthly wages) and rentista (at least 4, or 6 with companions) residency, plus shareholder and merchant routes. After 5 years of residence, ordinary naturalisation is possible under the Constitution.

Do I need to live in El Salvador to keep residency?

Temporary residents must spend at least 90 calendar days a year there under Decree 531, in force since 31 March 2026, unless force majeure is justified. Whether that applies to pensionados and rentistas is not stated in the decree.

Can I lose Salvadoran citizenship if I naturalise?

Yes. Naturalised citizens lose nationality by living over 2 consecutive years in their country of origin, absence of over 5 consecutive years, or a final sentence for serious intentional crimes. Loss is irreversible.

Can I work on a rentista or pensionado residency?

Generally not. Paid work is barred except for the State, municipalities or autonomous bodies, specialised matters or teaching.

Official & government sources

Rules, thresholds and fees change — apply through, and verify current requirements with, the authorities directly:

Work with Expectat

Ready to build your borderless plan?

Book a private strategy session — we'll map your residency, capital and Bitcoin setup, and the fastest legal path to it.

Book a strategy call